9 Best Disposable Diapers [2022 Review]

Have you decided you want to use disposable diapers, but your unsure what are the best disposable diapers to try?

Or maybe you’ve tried a few diaper brands and found that they just haven’t worked for you?

Then let us help you find the best diapers for your baby or toddler!

Disposable diapers are no doubt a popular choice when it comes to diapering a baby. They are convenient, easy to use, readily available, effective, and require no washing or dying.

Yet, working out what is the best disposable diaper for your baby or toddler is not always easy. Just like babies, disposable diapers come in different sizes, shapes, and with their own special features. It can be frustrating, and expensive, trying out different brands of diapers trying to figure out which diaper is best for your baby.

That’s why we’ve done the hard work for you! We compared the top baby diaper brands for absorbency, fit, comfort, cost, and eco-friendliness. Which one stood out as the best disposable baby diaper? Keep reading to find out!

This post contains affiliate links. See our full disclosure here

Our Top Pick
Pampers Swaddlers
$38.99 $33.48 ($0.28 / Count)

A popular choice, widely found in supermarkets and online, Pampers Swaddlers offer everything that babies need and parents want in a diaper. From great absorbency to an umbilical cord notch for newborns to their super soft lining, these value for money diapers are our top pick for diapering your baby with disposable diapers!


We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
10/01/2022 01:24 pm GMT

List Of The 9 Best Disposable Diapers

Best Diapers

1. Pampers Swaddlers Diapers [Best Disposable Diapers for Newborns]

If you gave birth in a hospital, chances are your baby wore Pampers Swaddlers for a few days. This is the most popular disposable diapers found in hospitals for newborns, possibly because Swaddlers offer one of the softest diapers on the market.

Pampers Swaddlers offer everything that babies need and parents want in a diaper. They’re strong yet soft, so your baby’s bottom never faces irritation. Pampers uses quilted heart liners that are two times softer than other leading brands. Then, on the front of the diaper, you’ll find a wetness indicator strip that lets you know when your baby wets.

Perhaps my favorite feature of the Pampers Swaddlers diaper is the umbilical cord notch. Most diapers have a strange waist that goes across your baby’s belly, but the Swaddlers diaper has a curve down near your baby’s belly button. So, if your newborn still has the umbilical cord stump, you don’t have to worry that the diaper will irritate or pull on it.

Something else that we love about Pampers Swaddlers is that they post a full list of ingredients online. This is something that might brands don’t do, even the “green” ones. They come in sizes 0-7, including a preemie size!

You may also like our comparison on Pampers vs Huggies.

Pros

  • One of the softest diapers on the market
  • Wetness indicator
  • Form-fitting to prevent leaks
  • Umbilical cord stump notch
  • Widely available
  • Affordable

Cons

  • Not chemical or fragrance-free
Our Top Pick
Pampers Swaddlers
$38.99 $33.48 ($0.28 / Count)

A popular choice, widely found in supermarkets and online, Pampers Swaddlers offer everything that babies need and parents want in a diaper. From great absorbency to an umbilical cord notch for newborns to their super soft lining, these value for money diapers are our top pick for diapering your baby with disposable diapers!


We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
10/01/2022 01:24 pm GMT

2. Andy Pandy Bamboo Disposable Diapers [Best Organic Disposable Diapers]

More and more parents are changing to eco-friendly, organic disposable diapers, and Andy Pandy’s is one of the best choices if you want an environmentally safe diaper. Andy Pandy diapers are made of bamboo and are 100% free of chlorine, phthalates, PVC, TBT, fragrances, preservatives, and other chemicals.

Compared to other disposable diapers, Andy Pandy diapers make a low impact on the environment. They’re super soft and durable; bamboo is the perfect material if your baby is prone to rashes or dry skin because it’s naturally hypoallergenic and antibacterial.

Another reason parents think this is one of the best disposable diapers because bamboo makes these diapers super breathable. Air circulates throughout the diaper, keeping your baby’s skin dry and prevents irritation. Bamboo is one of the only natural thermal regulating fibers, so your baby’s bottom will stay cool during warmer temperatures and warmer when the temperatures are cold.

So, if having an organic and environmentally safe diaper is essential for you, consider buying the Andy Pandy diapers.

You may also like our best organic diapers review!

Pros

  • Chemical Free
  • Eco-friendly
  • Breathable
  • Form-fitting to prevent leaks
  • Inner liner contains aloe to hydrate your baby’s skin

Cons

  • Not ideal for overnight diapers
  • Run larger than other diapers
  • More expensive than other brands
Our Top Pick
Andy Pandy Bamboo Disposable Diapers
$42.99 $36.60 ($0.39 / Count)

Andy Pandy diapers have a 100% Non-woven bamboo fiber back sheet and are guaranteed 100% Chlorine free, no alcohol or preservatives, free of Phthalates, latex, PVC, TBT, or Antioxidants. This means no nasty chemicals are going to directly in contact with your baby’s skin.

Other reasons they are our top pick include:

  • Naturally hypoallergenic, antimicrobial and odor resistant
  • 100% free of corn, wheat and starch
  • Wetness indicator
  • And let’s not forget - they’re 86% biodegradable


We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
10/02/2022 12:10 am GMT

3. Huggies Little Movers Diapers [Best Disposable Diapers for Active Infants and Toddlers]

Everyone recognizes the brand name Huggies; it’s one of the most popular brand names alongside Pampers. They offer a large range of diapers, but we have to include their Little Movers on our list of best disposable diapers.

Huggies Little Movers are perfect for your active infants or toddlers who are on the go. Once your child gains mobility, all they want to do is explore the world, and the diapers need to move with your baby. They have to be flexible and contour around their hips and legs. Whether your baby is crawling, rolling, or running, Little Movers stays snug and comfortable.

What makes Huggies Little Movers so awesome for toddlers?

They add their “Double Grip Strips” that keep the diaper secured at two points. You never have to worry that the diaper will come loose or fall off. They also use a DryTouch liner that pulls moisture away from your baby’s skin. Your toddler won’t feel wet and uncomfortable while playing.

Pros

  • Double Grip Strips that keep the diaper secured at two points
  • DryTouch liner
  • Contoured fit
  • Widely available
  • Affordable

Cons

  • Not as soft as other diapers
  • Not free of chemicals or fragrances
Our Top Pick
Huggies Little Movers
$52.98 ($0.38 / Count)

Huggies Little Movers are a fantastic choice for diapering your baby.

Not only is Huggies is a trusted brand among parents, but the Little Movers have been designed with flexibility and a contoured fit around their hips and legs to ensure your baby's diaper stays snug and comfortable and help to prevent unwanted blowouts.

Their DryTouch liner helps to keep your baby dry, while their “Double Grip Strips” help keep the diaper secured at two points. So, don't have to worry that the diaper will come loose or fall off. 


We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
10/01/2022 04:35 pm GMT

4. Luvs Triple Leakguards Diapers [Best Budget Diaper]

There is no getting around the fact that diapers are expensive, so if your family is on a budget, you need to find a budget-friendly diaper.

That’s where Luvs come in clutch.

Luvs have been known as one of the best budget-friendly disposable diapers for years. Parents buy Luvs because they keep your baby dry and clean without spending too much money. You don’t have to search for coupons or wait for sales; Luvs are already one of the cheapest brands on the market.

Just because Luvs are cheaper doesn’t mean that they lack in quality or won’t be able to stop leaks. Luvs offers super-soft materials inside of their diapers that won’t irritate your baby. They also created their diapers with the NightLock Plus, a feature that protects against leaks, even at night.

Luvs are a great choice whenever you need to save money and stop spending so much on diapers. You won’t have to worry about leaks, and the refastenable, stretchy tabs ensure the diapers stay right where you want them.

You may also like these diaper reviews on Luvs vs Pampers and Huggies vs Luvs.

Pros

  • Very Affordable
  • Triple Leakguards
  • Nightlock Technology
  • Wetness Indicator
  • Larger, refastenable tabs for a secure, snug fit
  • Luvs offers a money-back guarantee

Cons

  • Some parents say the diapers have a strange smell from the fragrances
  • Not free of chemicals or fragrances
Luvs Triple Leakguards Diapers
$45.00 ($0.27 / Count)
We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
10/01/2022 11:30 am GMT

5. Huggies OverNites Diapers [Best Overnight Diapers]

Not all diapers work well as overnight diapers, so when your baby starts to sleep longer stretches, you might find that your baby starts to leak out of their diaper. That’s when it’s time to find the best overnight diapers for your baby.

That’s where the Huggies OverNites shine.

These diapers are one of the top-selling brands of overnight diapers. They offer 12-hour wetness protection and a snug waistband that stops leaks from coming out the back of your diaper. When compared to their other diaper lines, Huggies added over 25% more absorbency to these diapers, so you have plenty of coverage.

These diapers only come in sizes three to six, so you can’t use them for young babies, but that’s okay! Most young babies still need to be changed in the middle of the night, so once your baby starts to sleep longer stretches, it’s time to try Huggies OverNites.

You may also like our best overnight diapers review!

Pros

  • Extra absorbent
  • Offer snug, comfortable protection
  • Perfect for toddlers and older infants

Cons

  • Only for sizes 3-6
  • More expensive than regular diapers
Our Top Pick
Huggies Overnights - Nighttime Baby Diapers
$52.98 ($0.40 / Count)

If you're looking for a trusted brand for your overnight diapers, then it's hard to go past Huggies Overnites. We love their SnugFit waistband, which ensures the diapers fit securely but not tightly.

They include the Leak Lock design that pulls wetness away from your baby’s skin, reducing the risk of a diaper rash. Your baby will feel dry all night long.

With an advertised 12 hours dryness these are a great choice, especially for heavy wetters.

We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
10/02/2022 01:05 am GMT

6. Kirkland Signature Supreme Diapers [Best Bulk Store Diapers]

If you shop at Costco, you’ll be happy to know that their store-brand diapers are a fantastic choice if you want to buy diapers in bulk.

The Kirkland Signature stores feature some things that parents want to see when they buy diapers. For example, they have adjustable tabs, a wetness indicator, and a pocket waistband in the back that prevents blowouts.

Costco made sure their diapers are made with plant-based materials to reduce the risk of allergic reactions. They are made of at least 20% plant-based materials, based on the weight of the diaper. Kirkland sells their SIgnature diapers from size one to six.

Despite being a store brand diaper, Costco made sure that their Signature Supreme diapers meet all parents’ expectations. These are durable diapers that hold up well, and they’re made with super soft materials that won’t irritate your baby’s bottom.

So, if you want to buy diapers in bulk to save some money, Kirkland Signature is the way to go, and it’s worth the cost of a membership to Costco to buy their diapers.

Pros

  • Durable and comfortable diapers
  • The pocket waistband prevents blowouts.
  • Made with a percentage of plant-based materials
  • Affordable

Cons

  • These diapers are on the thinner side
  • Not ideal for overnight diapers
We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
10/02/2022 12:09 am GMT

7. Bambo Nature Diapers [Best Disposable Diapers for Sensitive Skin]

Bambo Nature is an excellent choice if you want eco-friendly diapers perfect for babies with sensitive skin.

These diapers are free of perfumes and harmful chemicals like chlorine, latex, and lotion, reducing the risk of an allergic reaction. That’s why Bambo Nature is one of the few diapers that have earned the Danish Asthma & Allergy certification, along with the Nordic Swan Ecolabel, and are dermatologically tested.

Bambo Nature is one of the only diaper brands that offer a complete list of ingredients, so you always know what chemicals touch your baby’s skin.

The Nordic Swan Ecolabel means that these diapers are made via a sustainable manufacturing process. As a result, you don’t have to worry that these diapers increase your carbon footprint.

Not only are Bambo Nature diapers eco-friendly, but they’re soft and absorbent. You don’t have to worry about these diapers leaking, and the liner allows moisture to be wicked away to keep your baby’s skin dry. The chances of having a diaper rash reduce with these features.

If your baby has sensitive skin, you’ll want to give Bambo Nature diapers a try.

Pros

  • Eco-friendly with a Nordic Swan Ecolabel
  • Free of perfumes and harmful chemicals
  • Made with soft materials and a liner that pulls away moisture from your baby’s skin
  • Certified by the Danish Asthma & Allergy Association

Cons

  • Expensive when compared to other diapers
  • Some say that these diapers run smaller than other brands
We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.

8. Mama Bear Diapers [Best Store Brand Diapers]

Generic diaper brands generally offer all the same features of name-brand disposable diapers for a fraction of the price. If you’re an Amazon lover, you need to give their brand of diapers – Mama Bear. These are a new player in the field of generic, store brand diapers.

Aside from being made by Amazon, what makes Mama Bear Diapers a great choice for parents?

First, they have contoured fit with flexible leg cuffs and an absorbent core that holds plenty of liquid. You’ll notice that they have a high-stretch waistband, wetness indicators, and safe materials for babies. Compared to other generic diapers, the quality of Mama Bear Diapers is impressive.

Another reason to like these diapers is that they’re affordable for families. If you subscribe to deliveries on Amazon, they offer 20% off the diapers all the time, along with their other products like baby food and diaper wipes. That helps you save money!

Pros

Cons

  • Not ideal for overnight

You may also like our Mama Bear Diapers Review.

We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
10/01/2022 07:29 pm GMT

9. The Honest Company Diapers [Best Diaper Subscriptions]

The Honest Company came onto the market several years ago, marketed as an eco-friendly diaper with adorable prints. They specialize in making disposable diapers out of plant-derived materials; their diapers don’t contain latex, chlorine, or fragrances. You don’t have to worry about added chemicals to these diapers.

Unlike other diapers, The Honest Company uses a bio-based core with sustainably harvested wood pulp for the absorbent core of their diapers. This is an effective choice that reduces how many chemicals are needed to create the diaper while also keeping the weight down.

Parents love the adorable prints that The Honest Company offers; they even have seasonal patterns for holidays! All of their diapers are ultra-absorbent and ultra-thin, so they move with your baby. They don’t have any stiff padding that would bother your baby.

One place The Honest Company stands out is that they offer diaper subscriptions. If you sign up to their diaper and wipes subscription and use the code SAVE30 you will get $30 off your first subscription shipment. It even includes free shipping in the US! Sign up here!

Pros

  • Offer subscriptions to save money
  • Ultra-absorbent and comfortable for your baby
  • Free of many harmful chemicals
  • Available in many different prints

Cons

  • Not ideal for overnight – unless you use their overnight diaper
We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
10/02/2022 12:11 am GMT

Buyers Guide on the Best Disposable Diapers

Buying disposable diapers required us to consider a ton of factors, from absorbance to the fit and function of the diapers. How did we decide which disposable diaper was right for our baby? Below, we included info about how to choose the best disposable baby diaper and a methodology section, where we detailed how we researched and reviewed the top disposable diaper brands.

How To Buy Disposable Diapers

Taking these four steps before deciding on what disposable diapers to purchase can make enormous difference.

Before you select your diapers:

  • Check diaper sizing: Diaper sizing varies between brands some will run smaller and others larger than other brands you have previously used. To ensure the best fit for your baby check the specific sizing for the brand.
  • Made a list of the key components that are important to you: Know exactly what components are important to you and which components you are willing to compromise on. This will help you narrow down your options.
  • Set a budget: There is nothing worse than finding a brand of disposable diapers you love only to realize that they do not fit your budget. We recommend looking at the cost per diaper. Divide the cost by how many diapers come in a pack, and see which brands fit into your budget.
  • Check for availability: No one wants to run out of diapers. Ideally you will want to find a brand you can purchase locally. Or if you can only purchase your brand online you will need to take into consideration the time it takes for shipping. Diaper subscriptions can be a great option to ensure you always have a steady supply of diapers when you need them.

How Do You Know the Right Size Diaper for Your Baby?

Each diaper brand will fit your baby differently, so you might need to try a few different brands to find the one that works for your baby.

So, how do you know if the diaper fits your baby properly?

A properly fitting diaper will:

  • Fit right below your baby’s belly button.
  • Fasten symmetrically on either side.
  • Fit snugly but not dig into your baby’s skin and let your baby move around comfortably.

Having a diaper that fits your baby properly is a big factor into whether or not your baby’s diaper will leak. A poorly-fitting diaper will have a lot of leaks and blowouts, something that no parent wants to handle.

If you have a diaper that fits well at first but starts to have problems, chances are you need to size up. The size range isn’t exact; you might need to size up earlier. If your baby suddenly has leaks or the diapers cause red marks, it’s time to size up.

Methodology: How We Ranked The Best Disposable Baby Diapers

Through rigorous research and testing, we identified the best disposable baby diapers out there. We evaluated each product based on their absorbency, contoured fit, eco-friendliness, and overall value. We didn’t expect diapers to earn full marks in every category for us to consider them worth buying. Our review simply laid out the ideal characteristics we looked for in organic diapers.

Absorbency

Without a doubt, absorbency is a major consideration when choosing your diaper. A diaper should hold fluid without making your baby uncomfortable. (Please note the amount of fluid a diaper should hold will vary based on a number of factors such as the size of diaper, age of your baby, and how heavy of a wetter your child is). If you don’t have a diaper that is super absorbent, then you’ll have to change your baby’s diaper more regularly leading to higher costs and potential issues like diaper rash.

So, when evaluating each diaper, we looked at the absorbency, based on verified diapers reviews by other parents. We do recognize that this is more of a generalized rating as there can be multiple issue that impact diaper absorbency.

Contoured Fit

Having a diaper that has a contoured fit is essential. You could have the most absorbent diaper on the market and still have leaks if the fit is wrong. It is part of what determines if the diaper leaks or not.

Disposable diapers need to have a contoured fit, which means that it fits snugly around your baby’s legs and hips. It should have elastic along the waistband and leg gussets to prevent explosions that come out the leg holes. A contoured fit moves with your baby, so wiggling and squirming won’t cause gaps that allow liquid to escape.

Thus, we looked at the contoured fit of the diapers, waistband, and leg gussets, based on verified diapers reviews by other parents. We do recognize that this is more of a generalized rating as no baby is the same.

Value

Diapering your baby in disposable is an ongoing expense until your child is potty trained, so it needs to be factored in when choosing your preferred diapers. We broke down the average cost for a non-discounted newborn diaper per brand to see what brands provided value for money.

Environmental Considerations

Although not a primary factor in choosing the best disposable diaper, we did look to see if brands also took eco-friendliness and biodegradability into consideration.

FAQs about the Best Disposable Diapers

What was the best disposable diaper?

The best disposable diaper was Pampers Swaddlers. A popular choice, widely found in supermarkets and online, Swaddlers offer everything that babies need and parents want in a diaper. From great absorbency to an umbilical cord notch for newborns to their super soft lining, these diapers are a great choice for diapering your baby!

What are the best disposable diapers?

The best disposable diapers we’ve found are Pamper Swaddlers, Andy Pandy Bamboo Disposable Diapers, Huggies Little Movers, Luvs, Huggies OverNites Diapers, Kirkland Signature Supreme, Bambo Nature, Mama Bear Diapers, The Honest Company. You can read our review of the best disposable diapers here!

Do You Need Disposable Diapers?

You don’t need disposable diapers; however, for many parents’ disposable diapers are a convenient and time saving option to choose when diapering their baby. Cloth diapers are a popular alternative for those who decide they do not need to use disposable diapers.

Final Thoughts on The Best Diapers

When it comes to disposable diapers it is important to find a diaper that best suits your child to help keep the comfortable and dry! There are lots of great options on this list to choose from so you’re sure to find a diaper to suit your needs.

And if you’re looking for more great diapering guides, then check out these guides on best diapers to prevent blowouts, diapers vs pullups, Hello Bello vs Pampers, and best natural diaper rash creams.

Our Top Pick
Pampers Swaddlers
$38.99 $33.48 ($0.28 / Count)

A popular choice, widely found in supermarkets and online, Pampers Swaddlers offer everything that babies need and parents want in a diaper. From great absorbency to an umbilical cord notch for newborns to their super soft lining, these value for money diapers are our top pick for diapering your baby with disposable diapers!


We earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.
10/01/2022 01:24 pm GMT
Best Disposable Diapers